Other words for home
(Large Print)

Book Cover
Published
Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2020.
ISBN
9781432878962, 1432878964
Physical Desc
413 pages ; 23 cm.
Status

Copies

LocationCall NumberStatus
Lexington - Children'sj WARGA JOn Shelf

More Details

Published
Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2020.
Format
Large Print
Language
English
ISBN
9781432878962, 1432878964
Accelerated Reader
MG
Level 5.3, 5 Points

Notes

Description
"A gorgeously written, hopeful middle grade novel in verse about a young girl who must leave Syria to move to the United States, perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Aisha Saeed. Jude never thought she'd be leaving her beloved older brother and father behind, all the way across the ocean in Syria. But when things in her hometown start becoming volatile, Jude and her mother are sent to live in Cincinnati with relatives. At first, everything in America seems too fast and too loud. The American movies that Jude has always loved haven't quite prepared her for starting school in the US--and her new label of "Middle Eastern," an identity she's never known before. But this life also brings unexpected surprises--there are new friends, a whole new family, and a school musical that Jude might just try out for. Maybe America, too, is a place where Jude can be seen as she really is. This lyrical, life-affirming story is about losing and finding home and, most importantly, finding yourself"--,Provided by publisher.
Target Audience
Ages 8-12,Thorndike Press.
Target Audience
Grades 4-6,Thorndike Press.

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Description

Loading Description...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Warga, J. (2020). Other words for home . Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Warga, Jasmine. 2020. Other Words for Home. Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Warga, Jasmine. Other Words for Home Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2020.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Warga, Jasmine. Other Words for Home Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, a Cengage Company, 2020.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Loading Staff View.