Juniper & Thorn: A Novel
(eBook)

Book Cover
Author
Published
Harper Voyager, 2022.
ISBN
9780062973184
Status
Available Online

More Details

Format
eBook
Language
English

Also in this Series

Checking series information...

Description

Loading Description...

More Like This

Loading more titles like this title...

Reviews from GoodReads

Loading GoodReads Reviews.

Citations

APA Citation, 7th Edition (style guide)

Ava Reid., & Ava Reid|AUTHOR. (2022). Juniper & Thorn: A Novel . Harper Voyager.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Ava Reid and Ava Reid|AUTHOR. 2022. Juniper & Thorn: A Novel. Harper Voyager.

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities (Notes and Bibliography) Citation, 17th Edition (style guide)

Ava Reid and Ava Reid|AUTHOR. Juniper & Thorn: A Novel Harper Voyager, 2022.

MLA Citation, 9th Edition (style guide)

Ava Reid, and Ava Reid|AUTHOR. Juniper & Thorn: A Novel Harper Voyager, 2022.

Note! Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy. Citation formats are based on standards as of August 2021.

Staff View

Go To Grouped Work

Grouping Information

Grouped Work ID3519f33e-0389-6e2c-0499-b11a39b5fe39-eng
Full titlejuniper and thorn
Authorreid ava
Grouping Categorybook
Last Update2024-04-22 14:21:56PM
Last Indexed2024-04-22 14:22:01PM

Book Cover Information

Image Sourcehoopla
First LoadedDec 2, 2023
Last UsedApr 7, 2024

Hoopla Extract Information

stdClass Object
(
    [year] => 2022
    [artist] => Ava Reid
    [fiction] => 1
    [coverImageUrl] => https://cover.hoopladigital.com/hpc_9780062973184_270.jpeg
    [titleId] => 14568439
    [isbn] => 9780062973184
    [abridged] => 
    [language] => ENGLISH
    [profanity] => 
    [title] => Juniper & Thorn
    [demo] => 
    [segments] => Array
        (
        )

    [pages] => 320
    [children] => 
    [artists] => Array
        (
            [0] => stdClass Object
                (
                    [name] => Ava Reid
                    [artistFormal] => Reid, Ava
                    [relationship] => AUTHOR
                )

        )

    [genres] => Array
        (
            [0] => Dark Fantasy
            [1] => Fairy Tales, Folk Tales, Legends & Mythology
            [2] => Fantasy
            [3] => Fiction
            [4] => Gaslamp
        )

    [price] => 3.19
    [id] => 14568439
    [edited] => 
    [kind] => EBOOK
    [active] => 1
    [upc] => 
    [synopsis] => From highly acclaimed bestselling author Ava Reid comes a gothic horror retelling of The Juniper Tree, set in another time and place within the world of The Wolf and the Woodsman, where a young witch, seeks to discover her identity and escape the domination of her abusive wizard father, perfect for fans of Shirley Jackson and Catherynne M. Valente.

A gruesome curse. A city in upheaval. A monster with unquenchable appetites.
Marlinchen and her two sisters live with their wizard father in a city shifting from magic to industry. As Oblya's last true witches, she and her sisters are little more than a tourist trap as they treat their clients with archaic remedies and beguile them with nostalgic charm. Marlinchen spends her days divining secrets in exchange for rubles and trying to placate her tyrannical, xenophobic father, who keeps his daughters sequestered from the outside world. But, at night, Marlinchen and her sisters sneak out to enjoy the city's amenities and revel in its thrills, particularly the recently established ballet theater, where Marlinchen meets a dancer who quickly captures her heart.
As Marlinchen's late-night trysts grow more fervent and frequent, so does the threat of her father's rage and magic. And, while Oblya flourishes with culture and bustles with enterprise, a monster lurks in its midst, borne of intolerance and resentment and suffused with old-world power. Caught between history and progress and blood and desire, Marlinchen must draw upon her own magic to keep her city safe and find her place within it.
    [url] => https://www.hoopladigital.com/title/14568439
    [pa] => 
    [subtitle] => A Novel
    [publisher] => Harper Voyager
    [purchaseModel] => INSTANT
)